Belle Stars

80s Romance - The Complete Belle Stars (Download)

Format: Digital
Cat. No.: DDSALVOD035
Barcode: 0698458823588
Playing Time:

Salvo is delighted to present 80s Romance – The Complete Belle Stars.

Forged back in 1980 from the remnants of Two Tone’s Bodysnatchers, The Belle Stars were an all female, all singing, all dancing tour de force. Fusing limitless energy with incredible passion, they enjoyed no fewer than seven UK chart entries between 1982 and 1984 and toured with The Clash, Madness, The Police and Elvis Costello.

Their hit singles included fantastic, super-charged renditions of ‘Iko Iko’ and ‘The Clapping Song’, plus their self-penned smash ‘Sign Of The Times’.

Comprising all of their recordings for the legendary Stiff Records, including their debut album in its entirety, this comprehensive, enhanced collection also contains three of their best videos. Each band member has been interviewed about their recollections in brand new liner notes.



Lumbered with cover versions after their first self-penned singles failed to chart, The Belle Stars never had the "authentic" voice of their Stiff stablemates. They were still a great party band, however, and their one original hit, Sign Of The Times, was a grrrl power anthem ahead of its time. This collection brings together the band’s only studio album, with their A- and B-sides, plus that 80s inevitability: extended 12" mixes.

It’s a neat little package that hints at the band’s potential to do more. The eponymous album stands up as a competent, if compromised, debut, split 50/50 between band compositions and classic covers. And while the likes of Iko Iko and Harlem Shuffle don’t have the kick of, say, The Slits’ I Heard It Through The Grapevine, they often come damn close. Even better are those first two overlooked singles, Hiawatha and Slick Trick, the former remaining particularly skankable. The 12" versions are for completists only but, as this collection serves exactly that purpose, that’s hardly a complaint. Housed in a handsome digipak, it also includes three promo videos and illuminating sleevenotes by Terry Staunton. Exactly how this sort of compilation should be done. 4/5

Simon Hugo, Record Collector



1. Sign Of The Times
2. Ci Ya Ya
3. The Clapping Song
4. Indian Summer
5. Harlem Shuffle
6. The Reason
7. Iko Iko
8. Baby I’m Yours
9. Mockingbird
10. The Snake
11. Burning
12. Needle In A Haystack
13. Hiawatha
14. Slick Trick
15. Another Latin Love Song
16. Miss World
17. Sweet Memory
18. The Entertainer
19. 80’s Romance
20. Big Blonde
21. Take Another Look
22. Stop Now
23. Having A Good Time
24. Blame
25. Turn Back The Clock
26. Madness
27. April Fool
28. Sun Sun Sun
29. The Spider
30. It’s Me
31. Slick Trick (extended 12" mix)
32. The Clapping Song (extended 12" mix)
33. Mockingbird (extended 12" mix)
34. Sign Of The Times (extended 12" remix)
35. Sweet Memory (extended 12" remix)
36. Indian Summer (extended 12" remix)
37. Sun Sun Sun (extended 12" remix)
38. 80’s Romance (extended 12" version)